May 7, 2009

Things-I-Love Thursdays: Grooms Cakes

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , at 5:05 pm by Dory

It’s been a long time since I’ve had a Things-I-Love Thursday, but I think it’s about time. I’m hoping this can bring us over the 3,000 hit mark!

As one of my surprises for my husband, I had a custom groom’s cake made for him of the Virginia Tech football stadium (Lane Stadium). I had first called Charm City Cakes, which is known for their TV show Ace of Cakes. As awesome as it was to get a response back from them, I was not going to pay the $2,000+delivery. I talked to the country club that was hosting our ceremony and reception, and their pastry chef would be able to do this for what seemed like a steal for what we got (let’s just say it was less than my dress).

Here is how Lane Stadium looks:

aerial

Inside Lane

And this is how it turned out:

timanddorywedding-0952

timanddorywedding-0655

timanddorywedding-1080

I would say they did a pretty awesome job!

In honor of my love of groom’s cakes, I welcome you to send me your favorite pictures of a groom’s cake. I would like to devote a few posts to this, simply because there are so many amazing cakes out there. Send them to me at BrideSaverBlog@gmail.com.

Ok, since this blog is all about saving money, the cake only cost $400. Besides the photography, this is my favorite thing about the wedding. Well worth every single penny!

2 Comments »

  1. Ashley said,

    Wow…great cake! I think I’m going to make my own groom’s cake (he wants a dragon) and serve it at the rehearsal dinner.

  2. Ashley said,

    You received an award from me! Come on over and check it out and then give it to 10 of your favorite blogs.

    http://brideonbudget.blogspot.com/2009/05/blog-award.html


Leave a Reply

