March 1, 2009

Free Fonts

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , at 5:24 pm by Dory

Lately, I’ve been obsessed with finding a bunch of different fonts. It started with trying to find D’Nealian fonts for my classroom, so I could make my own handwriting practice sheets for my classroom, and it ended with me adding about 15 different fonts.

I thought it would be helpful to make a list of the websites I used:

Out of all the websites, I love DaFont the best. They have such a variety of different fonts, and their site is so easy to maneuver.

Another one of those sites that you’ll really want to check out is Fonts for Peas website. Amanda is incredible! She actually turns your handwriting (and doodles) into a font! She has very detailed directions, and you can bet that as soon as I have access to a scanner, I will be sending her my handwriting sample.

Directions for Windows:

Once you’ve decided which font you want to use, download it and open the file. On the toolbar, you will need to click on “Extract All.” After the file is extracted, it will be in the font format you need.

Then, go to the windows bar, open the Control Panel, and click on Fonts. After the Font window is open, you will just need to copy and paste the downloaded (and extracted) file to the File window.

Leave a Reply

