February 16, 2009

Alphabet Photography

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , , at 5:12 pm by Dory

Some call it “alphabet photography,” some call it art-letters, and some just say, “What is that?” It is becoming an ever-growing popular gift, and as soon as I saw it, I knew I had to try it.

_

Everyone has seen the poster of the alphabet made with butterfly wings, like the one from ButterflyAlphabet.com. Maybe that’s why I always wanted to be a teacher: I loved that poster! I just never thought of taking that idea one step further.

Now, you can go to a number of online sites where you can purchase prints of “found” letters in nature and the industrial world. Here are some examples:

As an amateur photographer myself, I knew that I wanted to somehow incorporate this into our wedding. I decided to then take some pictures and put together the last names of our ushers. Here’s an example of how it turned out:

img_4187

As part of this, I started a collection of other lettes, which I would be happy to put together for anyone else as well.

2 Comments »

  1. Meghan said,

    what did you do with the names?

  2. Dory said,

    We took the individual pictures, printed them at Kinko’s, and then framed them in our ushers’ last names and gave them as gifts.


Leave a Reply

